planting trees

Standard

I’ve copied an excerpt here from one of my favorite blogs, ‘girltalk’. Nicole Whitcare shares an interview with Andrew Peterson as he talks about the story behind his song, “Planting Trees.” As we’ve been studying the Sermon on the Mount at church, I’ve been challenged to invest in things that matter and have a Kingdom perspective. His words here further challenge me in that regard, specifically in my role as a wife and mom …

Counting Stars (album title) by Andrew Peterson

“The song“Planting Trees” is about investing in the things that matter and kingdom work. I wrote it for my wife who is not a singer/song writer, is not a musician or an artist–she is a great mom and makes our home this beautiful, magical place. We were at a retreat together, and I think we were in a small group, like a little breakout group, and the question we were all answering was, ‘What is it that you’re doing to change the world?’

“My answer was easy because for the last 15 years or so, I have had a clear sense of my call, I’m called to write songs and to encourage people and to teach people and entertain them, too, while I’m doing it. So I have a clear vision for what it is that I do and it’s easy for me to see the fruit of that ministry because I’ll get a case of e-mails or I’ll get to talk to people at shows.

“Then the question came around to my wife and her answer to the question … was that she’s raising these three kids in the kingdom. She’s impressing the words of the Lord on these children and raising them up to change the world. It was just a beautiful thought to me. It’s too bad that moms out there don’t get e-mails from random people telling them what great mothers they are. So this song is kind of an e-mail thanks to her for that idea that the greatest work we can do on this earth is investing in other human beings for the sake of Christ. It’s hard to picture a more direct version of that than a mother blessing her children.”

She rises up as morning breaks
She moves among these rooms alone
Before we wake
And her heart is so full; it overflows
She waters us with love and the children grow

So many years from now
Long after we are gone
These trees will spread their branches out
And bless the dawn
These trees will spread their branches out
And bless someone

Leave a Reply

