abundance

Standard

my belated reflections on my 40th birthday…

the word that comes to mind is Abundance.

The months leading up to my 40th birthday, I  would more accurately describe with words like loss, brokenness and pain.  Thankfully, God did not leave me there, but brought me to a place of seeing the Abundant love he has lavished on me, the Abundant grace and mercy He has shown me, and the Abundance of people in my life he has blessed me with who love and support me.

I’ve had some great opportunities to process this advancement of my age with family and friends in the recent past and presently.  Some themes have emerged.  One friend said, “Turning 40 gives you freedom to finally be an adult.”  Yes! it does.  It also calls me to be one.  I have not fully embraced that reality in the past.  I am an adult .. whether I always want to be or not!

The final arrival of my 40th birthday has also signified for me an opportunity to ‘reset’, to turn a corner, to do things differently.  A new beginning of a new chapter of life.  For some it may be just another day.  For me, my 40th birthday falls at a time where I’m excited (and perhaps a bit scared too) to make some changes.

So, back to abundance .. I like this word and what it means and represents.  I realize I live more often in scarcity.  Expecting less of myself, assuming less of others, and worst of all, not seeing the abundance that I’ve been given by God.

It didn’t take me long to find many references in scripture to God’s abundant love and mercy that he gives to us.

Here are just a few.

Psalm 31:19

Oh, how abundant is your goodness,

which you have stored up for those who fear you

and worked for those who take refuge in you,

in the sight of the children of mankind.


Psalm 51:1

Have mercy on me, O God,

according to your steadfast love;

according to your abundant mercy

blot out my transgressions.


Psalm 147:5

Great is our Lord, and abundant in power;

his understanding is beyond measure.

The psalmist speaks again and again of God’s abundance, in His love, His mercy, His power.

Jesus then speaks in John 10:10 of how He has come to give abundant life.

John 10:10

The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy. I came that they may have life and have it abundantly.


Abundance defined:

  1. present in great quantity; more than adequate; over-sufficient.
  2. well supplied; abounding.

I have definitely discovered in new ways this year, God’s abundant love for me .. in that He knows me completely and loves me anyway.  The abundance of  His grace in giving me what I do not deserve, eternal salvation because of the gift of His Son who paid the penalty for my sins; past, present and future.  And the abundance of mercy He continues to show me daily .. saving me from myself, my selfish choices and messes .. His mercies are new every morning .. I have known that and needed that.

(Lamentations 3:22-24)

So, as I mark this 40th year of my life and all that it has brought, I’m happy to celebrate God’s gift of abundance in my life.

I am so thankful for my amazing family, and many dear friends.

I’m happy I was able to celebrate this special birthday with some family and friends this weekend!

Some snapshots of the evening  . . .

3 responses »

  1. The party was super fun!!!! Great job planning a super fun gathering to celebrate this next season of life;0. Love the pics too. Should have taken more of the tasty food once it was all out! The Psalms verses are a great reminder to us all of God’s great abundant love for us. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

